When I remember thee upon my bed…..

Psalm 63:6-8 King James Version (KJV) 6When I remember thee upon my bed, and meditate on thee in the night watches. 7Because thou hast been my help, therefore in the shadow of thy wings will I rejoice. 8My soul followeth hard after thee: thy right hand upholdeth me.

So often at night I will have so many things going on in my mind that as I lay in my bed trying to go to sleep I will start praying and you know before long a peace will over take my body and I will be fast a sleep.  What better way to fall a sleep but in prayer with our Heavenly Father.  I remember about 12 years ago a time where I was in bed a sleep with my husband and pregnant with our oldest.  My husband and I were in a rough spot of our marriage and so things were not the greatest at that time.  Anyway, I was a sleep and I awoke to this darkness just over taking the room.  You could feel evil all around the bed and the light was getting smaller and smaller.  Not sure I have ever been that scared.  I started praying like I never had before and saying Bible Verses that I didn’t even know I knew.  With one hand on my child and another on my husband.  I told the devil that he wasn’t getting my family and that in the name of Jesus He wasn’t welcome.  I went on to tell him that since He wasn’t welcome that in Jesus Name he had to go.  This battle went on for what seem like a long time (but I am sure it wasn’t as long as it seemed).  Finally the darkness started disappearing and I felt as if I could breath again.  A wonderful peace came over me and I went back to sleep almost right away.   So you see we can truly rest in His shadows and have peace that God has our back.  I know sometimes it is hard to have faith in the shadows of the vallies that we must walk but know that even at your lowest moment God has your back…if you will only reach out to Him.  Praying that God is with each of you today and giving you peace and happiness.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Meditations in the Watches of the Night 101711 « Mennonite Preacher

Leave a Reply

